When taking a Defensive Driving Course (DDC) you can enjoy the benefits of Insurance Premium Discounts and DMV Points Reduction.
UPDATE INSTRUCTOR INFORMATlON
DDC RULES & PROCEDURES FOR POINT REDUCTION
AND INSURANCE PREMIUM REDUCTION
As of July 1, 1990 the legislature of New Jersey established a two-point motor vehicle reduction program for New Jersey drivers who satisfactorily complete a registered Defensive Driving Course - the DDC 6 or 8 and the Professional Truck Driver Course.
The program administered and regulated by the New Jersey Division of Motor Vehicle Services requires that a minimum of six (6) hours of classroom instruction must be taught by an instructor
certified by the New Jersey State Safety Council, using current (1996) National Safety Council teaching kit and student workbook, following rules and procedures of the Council for presentation of the course.
The two-point reduction program is voluntary on the part of a driver. Errant drivers are not forced to attend a 6 hour minimum or 8 hour Defensive Driving Course - a driver must desire to improve
his/her driving record and learn how to avoid accidents and tickets.
On May 22,1996, Elizabeth Randall, Commissioner of Insurance issued Bulletin No. 96-07 to all insurance companies writing private passenger policies in New Jersey stating that the minimum of five
percent discount would apply to the base rate for bodily injury Liability, Property Damage Liability, Personal Injury Protection and Collision coverage.
The rate reduction is available for three years or until a driver accumulates four (4) motor vehicle points or loses his/her license.